This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. Review our Privacy Policy for more details.

Accept

Susanne Rottenbacher

Susanne Rottenbacher

Susanne Rottenbacher (*1969, Göttingen) studied scenography at Barnard College (Columbia University) in New York and received a Master’s of Science from the Bartlett School of Architecture and Planning, London, with a focus on light. She worked as a stage designer at the Deutsche Oper Berlin and as a light designer for the “Licht Kunst Licht” design studio; it was during this time that she designed the lighting for the German Federal Chancellery and new government buildings, among other projects. She has been a freelance light artist since 2004.

Susanne Rottenbacher creates extensive room installations consisting of sculptural elements that might best be described as colorful 3D drawings in space. Her sculptures are characterized by a sense of ease and transparency, and they manage to transform themselves in dialogue with their surroundings and the shifting times of day.

She has been the recipient of numerous awards and fellowships, including the Artist-in-Residence fellowship, Centre of Contemporary Art, CCA, Andratx Mallorca (2016), 1st Prize, Kunst am Bau C.O.R. Düsseldorf (2013), the IIDA Award of Merit, IESNA for the lighting design at the Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus, German Federal Parliament, Berlin (2005), and the Josephine Paddock Fellowship from Columbia University, New York (1991).

>> Visit the installation "Lily Pond" by Susanne Rottenbacher 

>> Website of Susanne Rottenbacher

Artists

Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um das Nutzererlebnis zu verbessern. Lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen für mehr Infos.

Akzeptieren

Susanne Rottenbacher

Susanne Rottenbacher

Susanne Rottenbacher (*1969, Göttingen) studierte Bühnenbild am Barnard College der Columbia University New York und absolvierte einen Master of Science mit dem Schwerpunkt Licht an der Bartlett School of Architecture and Planning, London. Sie arbeitete als Bühnenbildnerin an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und als Lichtbildnerin für das Büro ''Licht Kunst Licht''; in diesem Kontext konzipierte sie unter anderem das Licht-Design des Bundeskanzleramts und der Regierungsneubauten. 

Seit 2004 ist sie als freie Lichtkünstlerin tätig. Susanne Rottenbacher schafft raumgreifende Installationen aus skulpturalen Elementen, die sich am besten als Licht-Farbkörper beschreiben lassen. Ihr Skulpturen sind von grosser Leichtigkeit und Transparenz geprägt und verändern sich im Dialog mit dem Umgebungsraum und Tageszeiten.  

Sie erhielt bereits zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Stipendien, darunter das Artist in Residence - Stipendium , Centre of Contemporary Art, CCA, Andratx Mallorca (2016), den 1. Preis, Kunst am Bau C.O.R. Düsseldorf (2013), den IIDA Award of Merit, IESNA für die Lichtplanung des Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus, Bundestag, Berlin (2005), sowie das Josephine Paddock Stipendium der Columbia University New York (1991). 


>> Zur Ausstellung "Lily Pond" von Susanne Rottenbacher

>> Zur Website von Susanne Rottenbacher


künstler